Freshly Squeezed: Beet, Carrot, Celery and Apple Juice

My husband and I were married last September and much to my great pleasure, we received a juicer as a gift!  I had been pining after this Breville model for a couple years and was so excited to finally have it in my kitchen!  I find this juicer to be quite easy to clean and is also very efficient at extracting juice.

I have experimented quite a bit with making different juices.  I find fresh juices pack a huge nutritional punch and are also a great way to use up fruits and veggies.  One of my favorite juices is this one I recently made which includes beets, carrots, celery and apple.  Here is what you need for one large glass of juice:

  • 2 beets, peeled
  • 2 carrots, peeled
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1 apple (I like McIntosh but also find Gala to be a great alternative)

DSC_0751

I chop the pieces of veggies and fruits into large chunks to make it easier for juicing.  I have also read that it is most effective to juice with the softer produce first, and juicing the harder produce last.  I assume this is because the softer produce moves through the mesh and blade easier than the harder produce, keeping the mesh as clear as possible while you juice.  So for this juice, I go in the order of apple, celery, carrots, beets.

DSC_0754

Voila!  A deeply hued, delicious, vitamin-packed juice that you can feel great about drinking!

DSC_0758

I always consume my juice right after I make it to get it in its freshest state.  Do any of you like to juice?  What are your favorite combos?

Leave a Reply

